Stakeholder Forum on the occasion of finalizing the Regional Roaming Agreement (RRA) and Regional Spectrum Agreement (RSA)

    • 04/11/21

    The Stakeholder Forum on the occasion of finalizing the RRA and RSA was held on 23 September 2021.

    Eastern Partner countries’ electronic communication Ministries and National Regulatory Authorities with the support from Eastern Partnership Electronic Communications Regulators Network (EaPeReg) and the EU4Digital Facility have been working on a regional initiative aimed at harmonization of international mobile roaming regulatory frameworks and ensuring eventual availability of 700MHz and 3.4-3.8GHz frequency bands for provision of mobile communications services in the Eastern Partnership countries, namely Republic of Armenia, Republic of Azerbaijan, Republic of Belarus, Georgia, Republic of Moldova and Ukraine.

    The representatives of relevant authorities (Ministries and NRAs) of Eastern Partnership countries expressed their commitment to ensure signing of RRA and RSA in December 2021.

    At the same time during the meeting there was a session dedicated to the regulatory governance in the framework of the activities of the Independent Regulators and Broadband Expert Working Group (IRB EWG) of the EaPeReg. Specifically, the proposal of the harmonized framework on electronic communications in EaP based on the EU framework was presented during this session.