Official name


Population (2012 est.)

45.6 mil.

Population density (2010 est.)

75.6 per km2

Surface area

603,628 km2

Capital (population 2011 est.)

Kiev (2.8 mil.)


Hryvnia (UAH)

Official languages



Ukraine lies in Eastern Europe on the coast of the Black and Azov Seas and it is the largest country of the EaPeReg network by population and surface area. Modern Ukraine was declared as an independent democratic state on 24 August 1991 by the Ukrainian parliament after an earlier declaration of sovereignty. Ukraine is a republic and has a mixed semi-parliamentary and semi-presidential political system. Ukraine is a priority partner country within the European Neighbourhood Policy and the Eastern Partneship. The Partnership and Co-operation Agreement (PCA) which entered into force in 1998 and provides a comprehensive and ambitious framework for cooperation between the EU and Ukraine, in all key areas of reform.

In 2012, the Gross Domestic Product of Ukraine was EUR 135.5 bil. The value created in the electronic communications sector equaled EUR 4.951 bil. which stands for 3.7 % of the GDP. In Ukraine, the Electronic communications law was introduced in 2003 and has been elaborated further since. The State Service of Special Communications and Protection of Information is the central body of executive power in the area of communications, responsible for the development of policies and legislation. National Commission for the State Regulation of Communications and Informatization of Ukraine (NCCIR) is the NRA in the area of electronic communications, and it was established in 2005. The NCCIR elaborates and approves regulations in issues that fall into its competence and monitors their implementation by the concerned parties. These regulations are mandatory for central and local executive bodies, local authorities and to the subjects in the telecommunication services market and their associations.

  • About us

    Welcome to EaPeReg, the Eastern Partnership (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine) Electronic Communications Regulators Network,...

    Read More ...

  • Policy of EaPeReg

    The EaPeReg Network Members gathered in Chisinau for the Plenary Assembly of 11 September 2012, where the Memorandum of Understanding of the Eastern Partnership...

    Read More ...

Ninth Plenary Session


07. April 2017

Chisinau, Moldova

The 9th Plenary Session of the EaPeReg Network was held on 7 April in Chisinau, Moldova. Representatives of all 6 EaP Countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine) and 7 EU Countries (Croatia, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Poland and Sweden) attended the meeting. The Participants of the Meeting nominated the Chair and Vice – Chair for 2018, adopted the Activity Report for 2016 and Action Plan for 2017-2019, voted the extension of the MoU with BEREC, discussed the Protocol of Cooperation, things regarding the website functioning, the proposal to include Broadband development in Action plan 2017-2019, the place and dates for the next Plenary Session and workshop.

Detailed Workshop
Information ...

Workshop on consumer issues – empowerment and QoS from the point of view of consumers


13. October 2016

Kyiv, Ukraine

The 17th EaPeReg Workshop on consumer issues – empowerment and QoS from the point of view of consumers was held on 12-13 October in Kyiv, Ukraine.

29 representatives of EaPeReg member countries – from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine and from EU member countries – Latvia, Portugal and Romania – attended the workshop. 

Detailed Workshop
Information ...