Official name

Republic of Moldova

Population (2012 est.)

3.56 mil.

Population density (2012 est.)

105.18 per km2

Surface area  

33,846 km2

Capital (population 2012 est.)

Chisinau (0.671 mil.)


Moldovan Leu (MDL)

Official languages



Moldova is a landlocked country located in the southern part of Eastern Europe. The modern Republic of Moldova was created on 27 August 1991, when it declared its independece from the Soviet Union, after an earlier declaration of  sovereignty. According to the Constitution, Moldova is a unitary parliamentary representative democratic republic. Moldova is a partner country within the European Neighbourhood Policy. A joint EU-Moldova ENP Action Plan lays out the strategic objectives based on commitments to shared values and effective implementation of political, economic and institutional reforms. The EU-Moldova ENP Action Plan is based on the Partnership & Cooperation Agreement (PCA) and encourages and supports Moldova’s objective of further integration into European economic and social structures.

In 2012, the Gross Domestic Product of Moldova ammounted to EUR 5.6 bil. The sector of eletronic communications has an important role in the economy of the country – in 2012, EUR 412 mil. was created in the sector which accounted for 7.3 % of the total GDP. In Moldova, the Electronic communications law was introduced in 2008. The Ministry of Information Technology and Communications develops, promotes and enforces governmental policy in the area of electronic communications, determines the strategy of sector development, and is also the authority entitled to administer and manage radio frequencies. The National Regulatory Agency for Electronic Communications and Information Technology (ANRCETI), which was founded in 2008 by reorganising the National Regulatory Agency for Telecommunications and Informatics, its predecessor, is the NRA that regulates the activities in electronic communications and information technology, ensures the enforcement of the sector development policy and strategies, and supervises the compliance of providers of electronic communications networks or services with the legislation. In 2013, ANRCETI Moldova is chairing the EaP Regulators’ Network.




  • About us

    Welcome to EaPeReg, the Eastern Partnership (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine) Electronic Communications Regulators Network,...

    Read More ...

  • Policy of EaPeReg

    The EaPeReg Network Members gathered in Chisinau for the Plenary Assembly of 11 September 2012, where the Memorandum of Understanding of the Eastern Partnership...

    Read More ...

Twelfth Plenary Assembly (21 November 2018, Vilnius, Lithuania)

Date: 21st November 2018

Place: Vilnius, Lithuania, Novotel Vilnius Center

The 12th Plenary Assembly was organized by the Communications Regulatory Authority of the Republic of Lithuania (RRT) as the EaPeReg Vice-Chair in 2018, in cooperation with the National Commission for the State Regulation of Communications and Informatization (NCCIR), as the EaPeReg Chair in 2018, with the support of the European Commission. All the logistics were provided by CECOFORMA.

The main aim of the 12th Plenary Assembly was to discuss the progress and plans as regards the EaPeReg activities in 2018, including the activities of its three Expert Working Groups on roaming, spectrum and broadband/benchmarking, discuss and adopt the EaPeReg Work Plan 2019, elect the EaPeReg Leadership 2019, and other issues important for further EaPeReg activities.

25 experts participated in the 12th Plenary Assembly, from the EaP countries: Azerbaijan, Belarus, Armenia, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine; EU Member States, namely: Latvia, Lithuania, Germany, Poland, Romania and the Czech Republic.

Detailed Workshop
Information ...