Official name


Population (2012 est.)

4.5 mil.

Population density (2010 est.)

62.4 per km2

Surface area

69,700 km2

Capital (population 2011 est.)

Tbilisi (1.121 mil.)


Lari (GEL)

Official languages



Georgia lies on the coast of the Black Sea in the Caucasus region of Eurasia. The modern history of Georgia started with the declaration of independence from the Soviet Union on 9 April 1991, shortly before its collapse. Georgia is currently a democratic semi-presidential republic, with the President holding the position of head of state, and the Prime Minister as head of government. EU-Georgia bilateral relations are regulated by the Partnership and Cooperation Agreement (PCA) which entered into force on 1 July 1999. The ENP Action Plan, endorsed by the EU-Georgia Cooperation Council of 14 November 2006, aims  to fulfil the provisions of the PCA and contribute to a closer relationship with Georgia, involving a significant degree of economic integration and deepening  of political co-operation. On 22 July 2013 in Brussels, the negotiations concerning the Eu-Georgia Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Agreement were completed. Now the final text of the agreement is preparing for signing.

In 2012, the Gross Domestic Product of Georgia rose to EU 12 bil. The electronic communications sector acounted for EUR 468 mil., which is 3.9 % of the GDP. In Georgia, the Law on Electronic Communication was introduced in June 2005. The Ministry of Economy and Sustainable Development is the governmental body responsible for the preparation and adoption of the national policy in the area of electronic communications, while the Georgian National Communications Commission (GNCC) is the independent NRA, which was established on 1 July 2000.




  • About us

    Welcome to EaPeReg, the Eastern Partnership (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine) Electronic Communications Regulators Network,...

    Read More ...

  • Policy of EaPeReg

    The EaPeReg Network Members gathered in Chisinau for the Plenary Assembly of 11 September 2012, where the Memorandum of Understanding of the Eastern Partnership...

    Read More ...

Ninth Plenary Session


07. April 2017

Chisinau, Moldova

The 9th Plenary Session of the EaPeReg Network was held on 7 April in Chisinau, Moldova. Representatives of all 6 EaP Countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine) and 7 EU Countries (Croatia, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Poland and Sweden) attended the meeting. The Participants of the Meeting nominated the Chair and Vice – Chair for 2018, adopted the Activity Report for 2016 and Action Plan for 2017-2019, voted the extension of the MoU with BEREC, discussed the Protocol of Cooperation, things regarding the website functioning, the proposal to include Broadband development in Action plan 2017-2019, the place and dates for the next Plenary Session and workshop.

Detailed Workshop
Information ...

Workshop on consumer issues – empowerment and QoS from the point of view of consumers


13. October 2016

Kyiv, Ukraine

The 17th EaPeReg Workshop on consumer issues – empowerment and QoS from the point of view of consumers was held on 12-13 October in Kyiv, Ukraine.

29 representatives of EaPeReg member countries – from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine and from EU member countries – Latvia, Portugal and Romania – attended the workshop. 

Detailed Workshop
Information ...