Official name

Republic of Belarus

Population (2012 est.)

9.5 mil.

Population density (2010 est.)

46.2 per km2

Surface area

207,600 km2

Capital (population 2011 est.)

Minsk (1. 861 mil.)


Belarusian Ruble (BYR)

Official languages

Russian, Belarusian


Belarus lies in the northern part of Eastern Europe and it is a landlocked country. The modern Republic of Belarus was created on 27 July 1990 when the country declared itself sovereign and the process was finalised by the dissolution of the Soviet Union on 8 December 1991. Belarus is a presidential republic, governed by a president and the National Assembly. EU-Belarus relations are currently governed by the Conclusions of the Foreign Affairs Council as last set out on 15 October 2012.

In 2012, the Gross Domestic Product of Belarus was EUR 48.9 mil. The eletronic communications sector equaled EUR 928.8 mil., accounting for 2.5 % of the total GDP. In Belarus, the Ministry of Communications and Informatization is the body responsible for governmental regulation, the management and implementation of the unified state policy in the area of communications and informatization and the creation of conditions for the development of organisations of every type of ownership to operate in this area. The Operational and Analytical Centre under the Aegis of the President of the Republic of Belarus is the regulator in the area of ICT that determines the policy of ICT development. On the EaPeReg platform, Belarus is represented by both state bodies.

  • About us

    Welcome to EaPeReg, the Eastern Partnership (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine) Electronic Communications Regulators Network,...

    Read More ...

  • Policy of EaPeReg

    The EaPeReg Network Members gathered in Chisinau for the Plenary Assembly of 11 September 2012, where the Memorandum of Understanding of the Eastern Partnership...

    Read More ...

Eleventh Plenary Assembly (26 April 2018, Kyiv, Ukraine)


26. April 2018

Kyiv, Ukraine

The 11th Plenary Meeting of the Eastern Partnership Electronic Communications Regulators Network took place in Ukraine
On April 26, 2018 the 11th Plenary Meeting of the Eastern Partnership Electronic Communications Regulators Network (EaPeReg) was held in Kyiv (Ukraine).
The aforementioned event was organized by the National Commission for the State Regulation of Communications and Informatization, as the EaPeReg Chair in 2018, with the support of the European Commission.
Detailed Workshop
Information ...